Lost in [marketing] opportunity

Purtroppo non è andata molto bene ai geniali creatori dell’esplosivo video di fontane di Diet Coke e Mentos.

Infatti, nonostante il video sia diventato virale (è stato visto ben 4.1 milioni di volte), ha fatto guadagnare ai due creatori solamente 25.000 $.

I due si sono andati a lamentarsi con Business Week  del fatto che copie non autorizzate sono finite illegalmente su YouTube e Google Video negando loro ulteriori guadagni garantiti invece da Revver. Come potete vedere sopra, anche io ho linkato a YouTube e non a Revver (sorry but Wordpress non supporta fonti diverse da Google Video e YouTube.

Jackie Huba su Church of the customer blog li bacchetta, giustamente, affermando che invece di lamentarsi dovrebbero cavalcare (o meglio avrebbero dovuto) l’onda di questo successo incredibile creato dal nulla.

Si sono focalizzati solamente su come “far soldi” con quel video e non hanno pensato su come fruttare la visibilità che avevano creato. Classico esempio di marketing miopia che si basa sul “prendi i soldi e scappa“.

Forse erano un pò a digiuno di marketing e hanno ignorato che:

YouTube, Google Video, Revver and other video sharing sites act as fast-moving distribution networks world wide for advertising. With the right content, they are the digital equivalent of dropping Mentos into a liter of Diet Coke. Videos on them are the new 30-second ads. It’s content designed toward a marketing means.

Mah…sbagliando s’impara. Noi, guardando loro sbagliare, l’abbiamo fatto!

18 Risposte to “Lost in [marketing] opportunity”

  1. Keenan Says:

    I have seen a lot of useful factors on your web-site about computers.
    However, I’ve the thoughts and opinions that netbooks are still not nearly powerful adequately to be a sensible choice if you often do projects that require a lot of power, for instance video touch-ups. But for world-wide-web surfing, microsoft word processing, and most other prevalent computer functions they are just fine, provided you cannot mind the small screen size. Many thanks for sharing your opinions.

  2. Kelsey Says:

    Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything.
    But think about if you added some great photos or
    videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics
    and videos, this site could undeniably be one of the greatest in
    its field. Excellent blog!

  3. Healthymindandsoul.tumblr.com Says:

    Excellent blog post. I absolutely love this site.
    Stick with it!

  4. www.Africatube.Net Says:

    What you said was very logical. However, consider this, what if you were to
    write a killer headline? I ain’t saying your content isn’t
    solid, however suppose you added a title to maybe grab
    people’s attention? I mean Lost in [marketing] opportunity | [Marketing] Departure lounge is a little vanilla. You should glance at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create article titles to get viewers interested.
    You might add a related video or a related pic or two to grab people excited
    about what you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

  5. disabled online dating Says:

    Great site. Lots of helpful info here. I am sending
    it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you on your sweat!

  6. Http://Folk.Ntnu.No/Joachigr/Wikitest/Mediawiki-1.16.2/Index.Php/Index.Php?%Boundary% Says:

    It’s very straightforward to find out any matter on web as compared to textbooks, as I found this post at this web page.

  7. Click Here Says:

    Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know
    a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m
    not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

  8. disabled women dating Says:

    Hi I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a
    remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

  9. RESCUE 2013 Key kaufen Says:

    Hi there, this weekend is good in support of me, because this time i am reading this wonderful educational post here at my house.

  10. gym dating Says:

    I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also go to see this blog on regular basis to obtain updated from most up-to-date information.

  11. Sky Angebote Says:

    Hello there! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for the
    excellent information you’ve got right here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  12. Sky Angebote Says:

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It actually was a enjoyment account it.
    Look complex to far introduced agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we communicate?

  13. coinsetter Says:

    Geneally I do not learn post on blogs, howesver I wish to say that this write-up very
    forced me to check out and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me.
    Thanks, very nice post.

  14. cleaning foreclosures Says:

    I know this web site provides quality dependent content and other
    stuff, is there any other web site which presents these
    kinds off stuff in quality?

  15. Frank Kern Consulting Says:

    It has been designed especially for business purposes
    and it holds biggest importance for your B2B online marketing
    strategy. I don’t know if that qualifies me as an Internet
    marketer or not – probably not. If you are serious about wanting to earn money online and
    look professional then you need your own webhosting with your own domain name.

  16. wifi hack password Says:

    Hi, I read your blog regularly. Your writing style is
    witty, keep it up!

  17. Julianne Says:

    If you are going for most excellent contents like
    I do, only go to see this website every day as it provides quality contents,
    thanks

  18. Gluten Free Society free Says:

    You don’t need to go to the beach for this favorite treat.
    When we try to muscle through with just conviction as our army
    we’re doing it the hard way. It was well known that oats were grown, stored, milled and packaged with wheat products
    are were typically very contaminated with gluten.

Lascia un commento

